Share This Post

MSD CRM Updates

Dynamics CRM Auditing and its Working

Dynamics CRM Auditing

Microsoft Dynamics CRM comes with several tools to support you manage data. One of these is the Dynamics CRM Auditing feature, which allows you to track the changes made to data in Dynamics CRM. It also tracks each time the user logs into your system. If the auditing is enabled, the CRM automatically makes logs for the changes that are tracked. By default, auditing is not turned on.
To view the audit for a specific record click on Dynamics CRM Auditing History.

Dynamics CRM Auditing

Audit history

This will show any changes that have been made; what the old value was and what the new value is.

Audit history

Audit history

Benefits

The Dynamics CRM Auditing feature has many benefits. It allows you to:

  • Analyze the history of each record.
  • View a summary of everything that changed.
  • Track when a user accessed CRM.
  • Comply with regulation standards.
  • Analyze the user actions in order to improve the business processes.

Considerations when starting auditing

Start auditing at an organization level to allow auditing for the entities and fields. When you start auditing for the first time, auditing is started by default on the given entities: Account, Contact, Goal, Goal Metric, Lead, Marketing List, Product, Quick Campaign, Rollup Query, and Sales Literature.
You may want to stop auditing for the maintenance purposes or when the database space is limited. Stopping auditing at the organization level stops the tracking of changes for entities or fields for the period for which auditing is stopped at the organization level. When you start the organization-level auditing again, the same entities and the fields are selected for auditing that was selected when you stopped auditing for the organization.
Learn more about working with Dynamics CRM Auditing:

  • How to Enable or Disable Auditing
  • Enabling or Disabling Auditing on Specific Business Areas
  • Auditing User Login Details
  • Enabling or Disabling Auditing for Entities
  • Enabling or Disabling Auditing for Fields
  • Auditing Security Roles

How to Enable or Disable Auditing in Microsoft Dynamics CRM

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Settings. Then under System, click Auditing. In the Audit area, click Global Audit Settings.

2. To start audit tracking, in the System Settings dialog box, click the Auditing tab. Then select the Start Auditing check box.

Start Audit Tracking

Start Audit Tracking

To simply stop auditing tracking altogether, navigate to the same area in How to Start Auditing section above, except this time clear the Start Auditing check box.

Enabling or Disabling Auditing on Specific Business Areas

To start or stop auditing on specific business areas, navigate to the same place as you would if you were turning on auditing, and select or clear the following check boxes:

  • Common Entities. This check box is selected by default when you start auditing for the first time.
  • Sales Entities. When you select or clear this check box, auditing is started or stopped for the following entities: Competitor, Opportunity, Invoice, Order, and Quote.
  • Marketing Entities. When you select or clear this check box, auditing is started or stopped for the Campaign entity.
  • Customer Service Entities. When you select or clear this check box, auditing is started or stopped for the following entities: Case, Contract, and Service.
Auditing Specific Business Areas

Auditing Specific Business Areas

Auditing User Login Details

The audit log of user access is available in Audit Summary View page. To start auditing for login details:

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Settings. Then under System, click Auditing
  2. In the Audit area, click Global Audit Settings
  3. To start tracking user access details, in System Settings dialog box, click to the Auditing tab. Then select the Audit User Access check box.
Auditing User Access

Auditing User Access

To stop tracking of user login details, clear the Audit User Access check box.

Enabling or Disabling Auditing for Entities

This task also requires the System Administrator or the System Customizer security role. Auditing for the entities won’t work if you don’t have organization-level auditing turned on, so make sure that’s turned on first.

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Settings. Then under System, click Auditing
  2. In the Audit area, click to the Entity and Field Audit Settings

3. Under Components, expand Entities.

Auditing Entities

Auditing Entities

4. Click the entity for which you want to start or stop auditing. To start auditing, on the General tab, in the Information Services section, select the Auditing check box. To stop auditing, clear the check box.
By default, when you start or stop the auditing for an entity, you also start or stop the auditing for all the fields of this entity.

Enabling or Disabling Auditing for Fields

Again, you must have the System Administrator or the System Customizer rights to complete this task. By default, when you enable the auditing for an entity, the auditing is also enabled on all of an entity’s fields. You can choose or clear fields for which you want to enable auditing. To do so:

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Settings
  2. Under System, click Auditing
  3. In the Audit area, click to the Entity and Field Audit Settings
Entity and Field Audit Settings

Entity and Field Audit Settings

4. Under the Components drop-down menu, select Entities.

Entities Dropdown

Entities Dropdown

5. In the left-hand navigation, expand the entity that has the fields for which you want to start or stop auditing, and click Fields.

6. In the field list, to start or stop auditing for a single field, open that field and in the Auditing field click Enabled or Disabled.

Enable Disable Auditing

Enable Disable Auditing

7. Click Save and Publish All Customizations.
You can also start or stop the auditing for more than 1 field at a time.

  1. On the Actions toolbar, click Edit.
  2. In the Edit, Multiple Fields dialog box, in Auditing, click to the Enabled or Disabled respectively
Edit Multiple Fields

Edit Multiple Fields

3. Click Save and Publish All Customizations.

Auditing security roles

Whether or not the user can access the audit history is based on security roles. These security roles include:

  • View Audit History
  • Audit Summary
  • See Audit Partitions
  • Delete Audit Partitions

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of
Skip to toolbar